2013-2014 International Fellowships For US Scholars And Professionals

Individual Advanced Research Opportunities Program (IARO) Short Term Travel Grants Program (STG)

IREX is pleased to announce that applications are now being accepted for the 2013-2014 Individual Advanced Research Opportunities Program and Short Term Travel Grants Program.

These innovative and flexible programs offer U.S. scholars and professionals the opportunity to conduct policy-relevant research in Eastern Europe and Eurasia. Researchers are able to increase their understanding of current regional issues, develop and sustain international networks, and directly contribute to the formation of U.S. public policy by conducting research on topics vital to the academic and policymaking communities. Fellowships provide international airfare, a living/housing stipend, visa support, emergency evacuation insurance, logistical support and, in many countries, field office support.

(See below for the Individual Advanced Research Opportunities Program (IARO))

The Short-Term Travel Grants Program (STG) is a short-term, flexible program for postdoctoral scholars and professionals to conduct targeted, policy-relevant research in Eastern Europe and Eurasia.
• Eligibility: Postdoctoral scholars and professionals with advanced degrees are eligible. Applicants must be US citizens.
• Information and online application: Short-Term Travel Grants Program (STG) http://www.irex.org/application/short-term-travel-grants-stg-application
• Deadline: February 6, 2013
• Examples of Recently-Funded Research Topics: Regional Economic Development, Islamic Influence in Central Asia, Human and Civil Rights in Eastern Europe, Gender and Politics
• Contact: By e mail at stg “at” irex. org or by telephone at             202-628-8188

Countries Eligible for Research:

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan IARO and STG are funded by the U.S. Department of State Title VIII Program