2013-2014 International Fellowships For US Scholars And Professionals

Individual Advanced Research Opportunities Program (IARO) Short Term Travel Grants Program (STG)

IREX is pleased to announce that applications are now being accepted for the 2013-2014 Individual Advanced Research Opportunities Program and Short Term Travel Grants Program.

These innovative and flexible programs offer U.S. scholars and professionals the opportunity to conduct policy-relevant research in Eastern Europe and Eurasia. Researchers are able to increase their understanding of current regional issues, develop and sustain international networks, and directly contribute to the formation of U.S. public policy by conducting research on topics vital to the academic and policymaking communities. Fellowships provide international airfare, a living/housing stipend, visa support, emergency evacuation insurance, logistical support and, in many countries, field office support.

The Individual Advanced Research Opportunities Program (IARO) provides students, scholars and professionals with support to conduct policy-relevant field research in the countries of Eastern Europe and Eurasia.
• Eligibility: Master’s students, pre-doctoral students, postdoctoral scholars, and professionals with advanced degrees are eligible. Applicants must be U.S. citizens.
• Information and online application: Individual Advanced Research Opportunities Program (IARO)http://www.irex.org/application/individual-advanced-research-opportunities-iaro
• Deadline: November 14, 2012
• Examples of Recently-Funded Research Topics: Role of Social Media in Political Engagement, Peace Education in Post-Conflict Settings, Cultural Identity and Nation Building, Migration Studies
• Contact: By e mail at iaro “at” irex. org or by telephone at             202-628-8188

Countries Eligible for Research:
Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan IARO and STG are funded by the U.S. Department of State Title VIII Program