2021 ARISC Alt-Academic Professional Development Forum

DATE: Friday, May 7, 2021
TIME: 9am PDT/11am CDT/12pm EDT/5pm BST/8pm South Caucasus

The American Research Institute of the South Caucasus invites graduate students and early-stage post-doctoral scholars to attend the 2021 Alt-Academic Professional Development Forum. This forum is a 75-minute discussion and Q&A session on career diversity for those specializing in study of the South Caucasus and related fields.

Panelists include:

• Timothy Blauvelt (Ilia State University, American Councils for International Education)

• Chelsea Freeland (US Department of State)

• Hans Gutbrod (Ilia State University)

• Maureen Marshall (U. of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, ARISC)

• Laura Tedesco (US Department of State)

Panelists will briefly introduce the forum, sharing their own experiences leveraging graduate degrees across the humanities and social sciences into careers outside of the North American academy. For the remainder of the forum, participants will have the opportunity to ask their own questions on alt-ac professional development and career diversity. Panelists will be prepared to answer questions on employment in consulting, think tanks, government service, cultural preservation, educational institutions (overseas and non-professorial), educational exchange administration, and more.

Although this panel is geared toward graduate students and early-stage postdoctoral scholars specializing in the South Caucasus, we welcome interested participants from any field and at any stage of their academic or professional development. This forum will take place on Friday, 7 May 2021, 12:00 PM Eastern (20:00 Baku, Tbilisi, Yerevan).

To register: bit.ly/3gEm41Y

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

This event is free and open to the public.

ARISC does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, physical or mental disability, medical condition, ancestry, marital status, age, sexual orientation, citizenship, or status as a covered veteran.