Curriculum Development Stipends


Through funding from the U.S. Department of Education, six Title VI National Resource Centers plan to award stipends to faculty at community colleges and minority-serving institutions to develop and incorporate greater content about Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia into the curricula of the institutions at which they teach. These National Resource Centers (NRCs) receive grants under the Higher Education Act to train specialists and to work with other postsecondary institutions to expand Russian, East European, and Eurasian content in the classroom.

Faculty at community colleges and minority-serving institutions throughout the U.S. are invited to apply for a course development stipend. Awards will be from $1,000-$3,000. All full-time, regular part-time, and adjunct faculty are encouraged to apply. Applicants can propose to redesign an existing course or to develop a new course including at least 25% content on Russia, Eastern Europe, and/or Eurasia. Funds will be made available to awardees in the form of a subaward to their home institution that can be used to cover research related travel, off-duty/additional pay and benefits, curriculum and research purchases, or consultation with a faculty member from a participating NRC. Awardees can also access the library of one participating NRC during the funding period. To be eligible as a minority-serving institution, the institution must be listed by the U.S. Department of Education as eligible for Title III and Title V for FY2016 (

Those applications selected for funding will be given a subaward. Applicants should make sure that their home institution is prepared to accept a subaward for the amount of their application and follow any internal procedures for applying for external funding. Funds for compensation and travel will be made available following their home institution’s system and policies.

2016 Call for Applications: Course Developmnent Stipends for Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia

Application Deadline: Friday, January 20, 2017.  Please email completed applications to Eileen Kunkler at Award notifications will be sent out by mid-February 2017.

Applicable Countries:

    • Albania
    • Armenia
    • Azerbaijan
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Bulgaria
    • Croatia
    • Czech Republic
    • Estonia
    • Greece
    • Georgia
    • Hungary
    • Kazakhstan
    • Kosovo
    • Kyrgyzstan
    • Latvia
    • Lithuania
    • Macedonia
    • Moldova
    • Mongolia
    • Montenegro
    • Poland
    • Romania
    • Russia (including Tatarstan)
    • Serbia
    • Slovakia
    • Slovenia
    • Tajikistan
    • Tatarstan
    • Turkey
    • Turkmenistan
    • Ukraine
    • Uzbekistan

Participating Centers:
Indiana U., Inner Asian & Uralic National Resource Center
Indiana U., Russian & East European Institute
Ohio State University, Center for Slavic & East European Studies
U. of California, Berkeley, Institute of Slavic, East European, & Eurasian Studies
U. of Pittsburgh, Center for Russian & East European Studies
U. of Washington, Ellison Center for Russian, East European, & Central Asian Studies

For more information or questions, please contact Eileen Kunkler, the assistant director at the Center for Slavic and East European Studies at Ohio State, at